I don’t
like David Suzuki. That’s been the case for many years now, ever since I showed
up at a book-signing in Victoria to interview him and discovered that the man I
had thought of as a kind, wise environmentalist was in fact an obnoxious, rude
guy who made no attempt to hide his contempt of the fans gazing at him all
fawn-eyed and adoring.
I’ve generally
kept my opinion of him to myself, however, for fear of seeming un-Canadian. I
don’t know what the process is for becoming a beloved Canadian icon, but have
long recognized that once someone achieves that status, any Canadian who dares
to say otherwise is really in for it.
But a story this week from the Sun Media chain was just too good for me to pass up. The story
featured a series of emails from John Abbott College in Quebec about Suzuki
receiving more than $40,000 in fees and expenses for a speaking
engagement at the college in October.
Better
still, the emails - obtained through a Freedom of Information request - featured
a juicy little bit about Suzuki requesting that the college also provide
attractively dressed female college students to walk alongside him and ward off
the advances of all those adoring fans he can’t stand. (The
college now says Suzuki made no such request, although the email exchange seems
pretty clear. But here's the viewpoint of Halifax Chronicle Herald journalist Paul McLeod, who thinks SunMedia went too far with its allegations. )
I posted
the story on Facebook and mentioned the long-ago book signing as my reason for
being a bit gleeful at seeing Suzuki in the muck. Within minutes, dozens of people had posted
comments. Within an hour, there were almost 50 comments and 20 “shares” of my link
to the story. By this morning, the comments were up to 62 and there’d been 26
shares.
And the people
writing the comments were MAD: Mad at Suzuki for being rude and horrible to
them at some point as well; mad at me; mad at Sun Media; mad at the
Conservatives (not sure how they got dragged into the debate); mad at anyone
saying mean things about a man who’d done such great things for environmental
awareness.
“WOW! You
hit a hotspot here!” noted one Facebook friend.
Clearly. There was a lot of passion
in people’s comments, whether out of love for Suzuki and the work he has done
or because others also had lingering feelings of bitter betrayal after being treated
roughly and rudely by him.
Ultimately,
the heated exchange brings to mind that old saw about whether you can hate the
sin but love the sinner. Can we admire Suzuki’s work while also acknowledging
that at times he's an arrogant, unpleasant jerk?
I’d guess
that all of us have done things in our lives that we’re not proud of. So I’m
always pretty careful to avoid assessing the total sum of a person based on the
dumb decisions or big mistakes they’ve made.
I think it’s
possible to make good presidential decisions while also being a pathetic
womanizer, or to be an amazing athlete even while lying blatantly over a very
long time about your use of performance-enhancing drugs. You can’t take the
measure of a person’s contribution to this world solely by looking at their
worst errors in judgment.
That said,
there are obviously some acts that tend to knock you right out of everybody’s good
books forever – pedophilia, violence against your spouse or children, planning someone’s
murder, ripping off vulnerable people or charities, racism. Personally, I find
hypocrisy very difficult to forgive as well, which is why I now count as
unredeemable fallen stars like Elliot Spitzer, Lance Armstrong, Tiger Woods, and
a long list of two-faced pseudo-Christians in the U.S. who foment hatred and judgment while behaving loathsomely in private.
With David
Suzuki, that’s a harder call to make. The stories of his rough treatment of
people are numerous enough that we can conclude he’s got a real capacity to be
a rude, arrogant bastard. But hey, the world is full of guys like that, and
mostly I don’t waste a thought on them.
So why does
Suzuki’s bad behaviour evoke such passion – in me and all the people on that
Facebook thread?
One problem
is that he just SEEMS so amiable and kind when we see him on TV that we come to
believe that it’s true - that we “know” the man. Then we meet him in person, witness
him treating us or his fans rudely, and feel an astonished sense of betrayal
that he isn’t who we thought he was.
For others –
people who haven’t met him yet, I suspect - Suzuki’s personal “brand” is so
synonymous with being a responsible, caring and aware citizen of the natural
world that any attack on the man is seen as an attack on environmentalism.
In this
particular case, there was also the fact that Suzuki’s college-girl demands and
enormous speaking fees were played up heavily by a controversial media network that’s
more or less the Fox News of Canada. It’s a muck-raking, biased network that
responsible, caring and aware citizens of the natural world love to hate.
At the end
of the day, the story has confirmed rather than changed my opinion of Suzuki. That he might want pretty young women to walk
alongside him to hold all those annoying fans at bay is not much of a surprise
to me, because I witnessed his arrogance in Tanner’s Books many years ago and
know that arrogant men see themselves as outside the rules that govern the rest
of us.
I do feel
for the people who are having their rose-coloured glasses torn away for the
first time, though. I remember how that
felt.
As for the
enormous speaking fees and the fact that Suzuki did indeed get that phalanx of
girl bodyguards he requested, that reflects most poorly on the Quebec public
college that agreed to those demands. What were they thinking? What truly good works at the college might that $40,000 fee have funded?
That college
administrators didn’t hesitate in providing Suzuki with attractively dressed
female students also gives the lie to decades of big talk about not objectifying
women. Our academic institutions have often led that conversation, and it’s very
disappointing to see that the commitment to respectful treatment of women lasts
only until a coveted speaker makes a sexist demand.
However, I can
separate the personal from the professional. I still love the environment and
those who have dedicated their lives to the struggle. I’m thankful for the work
of the David Suzuki Foundation and Suzuki himself. I will not let my personal feelings
for Suzuki detract from my appreciation of his work.
But I’ll
also give my instincts a quiet little high-five for being right all those years
ago, when I first caught a glimpse of a very different man underneath that genial
smile.
.jpg)
Comments
I have no strong opinions about Suzuki as a person, in fact, I try not to judge people I haven't met or interacted with. His work has been great, and that's all one needs to care about in the absence of, as you said violence or harrasment. . That being said, it's a bit hilarious that you did not mention the source of the story: Ezra Levant is one of the most discredited excuses for journalist you can find. He's an ex tobacco lobbyist, climate denier and founder of an oil astroturf group "ethical oil". He is also been previously convicted for defamation. Was there any point in debating this obvious smear job? Clearly, there's a meme in conservative circles to smear environmental icons with thinly sourced and gossip like innuendo. We should not participate in this kind of "journalism"
A couple of small clarifications.
About the attractively-dressed females bit: If you read the emails closely it's clear that rather than merely wanting a couple of babes to escort him around the place, the request was for security guards that didn't have that whole security-guard thing going on about them. A degree of sexism there, even, but not of the order of lechery Levant presented.
Also the enormity of the speakers' fee - it looks wholly obscene, but in all likelihood the money, if not all then a part, was for his foundation. That's one of the ways the Suzuki Foundation raises money.
Anyway. . .your experience with him is of a piece with quite a few encounters I've witnessed or heard about directly from people I trust. I've also knocked heads with Suzuki, publicly, more than once; his foundation co-published two of my books and I've found that he is by no means the intellectual and moral giant of his public persona. But then again last year I spent an evening with him among friends in Toronto and he was sweet as pie.
The points you make are spot-on and necessary, and they speak to the slavishness of the "celebrity culture" that tends to afflict the bien-pensant and stylishly correct, a broad caste of bourgeois society that tends to be cluttered with bores who imagine themselves to be "environmentalists," and thus without any stain of sin.
Second reason for my note here: Just to say you rock. I've followed your work for years and I've always held a tremendous admiration for you. All the best in your latest endeavours and so on.
Affectionately,
- Terry Glavin
Anyway - good for you for being a shit disturber of the best kind.
Marty
Bill Tieleman, Alexandra Morton and others have had similar experiences:
http://billtieleman.blogspot.ca/search?q=Suzuki
Like you point out, someone can be a great environmentalist, yet still be a jerk. His quiet demeanor on Nature of Things probably masks that from those who haven't met him.
Cheers...
H. Adam, Vancouver Island
Of course, Suzuki would not be the first celebrity to believe everything PR people are paid to write. The environmental movement is more than one, or a handful, of unbounded egotists. However, it certainly has its share; maybe more than its share.
David Suzuki is a world famous scientist, author and television personality. Should his speaking fees be low or free because he does "good work?" What are the speaking fees of an equally famous novelist or economist?
Perhaps the request for decently dressed students to escort him through the campus was to avoid being surrounded by burly uniformed security guards. To assume that Suzuki must be a lecherous old man may be totally unfounded.
How to Manufacture a Story: David Suzuki Edition
https://offtherecordnocomment.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/how-to-manufacture-a-story-david-suzuki-edition/
Do take the time to read this, and his update as well https://offtherecordnocomment.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/eza-and-me/
All there is to say, really. Pretty shameful journalism
That one of its high priests should turn out to be a misanthrope should not be a shock.
http://www.newswire.ca/en/story/1049751/update-dr-david-suzuki-at-john-abbott-college
But Levant's piece is full of misunderstandings (to be generous). The "penthouse" he refers to was the top-floor classroom in the new Science building that Suzuki's visit was to celebrate. A private donor paid Suzuki's $30k speakers fee, not public funds (I'm sure Levant doesn't oppose private funding for education!) and it all went to his Foundation. While it sounds like a lot, keep in mind that Sarah Palin's daughter apparently charges in the same range! Sure, the concern with appearances and how the students would dress was a little over the top, but if you've spent any time on a college campus recently, not completely unjustified. A wish for unobtrusive security and a stupid joke about Suzuki preferring to be surrounded by "pretty girls" (not made by him, either) is being blown way out of context by someone who is just out to discredit him.
The truth is that the college went overboard by treating Suzuki's visit as almost a divine visitation. But that doesn't justify Levant's comments.
What started it? Well a tectonic plate movement about 3 million ybp joined North and South America creating the Ithsmus of Panama and altering the Ocean Currents. Guess what? this is a major influence on climate change unlike atmospheric CO2. Within 500kybp the Ice sheets began to advance and it continues David Suzuki or no David Suzuki.
The guy wrote about his daughter's sex life and his own. Is that an environmental issue? That is just weird.
A funny story, as a 19 year old I was driving a small car with 4 buddies travelling to Prince George and we came along side a huge van with, wouldn't you know it, David Suzuki and passenger. The rest of the van was empty.
Nothing he said made sense after that as I couldn't get my head around why he could lecture me on my footprint when he was driving this gas guzzling vehicle. A small thing but always made me listen to him differently
A while back, with partners, I wrote a very broad movie comedy. It has yet to be made so I won't say much. But there is an environmental character called Kawasaki who is an obvious parody of David. It was delicious to write! Creating characters who are pricks in real life but who have established holier-than-thou public personas is a whole lotta fun. Because in a movie you get to go behind the curtain.
He's one of thoe people who manages to create an impression without, on his own, accomplishing much. The need to be surrrounded by hot young women kinda says it all, right?
If so, please post. I say this not to be critical, but because such a reference is more believable, overall, than "I met David Suzuki and he was a jerk." He may well be a jerk; more important, I think, is whether or not he's a hypocrite of the Al Gore variety, waxing wise and passionate about global warming from one of his gazillion sq. ft. mansions.
Some people who have had to liaison for David Suzuki have entered a challenging world. That world is one of social adventure and at time counter socially conservative culture. There are accusations that David Suzuki has demanded access to strip clubs, strippers, and prostitutes. David Suzuki knows where his minds, body, and interests have been directed as a "star" patron of the CBC.
I'd like to know why the CBC hides the truth regarding it's spending sprees around Suzuki.
Sadly too many people who aspired to productive careers at the CBC had the unfortunate luck to have to work on a Suzuki "project".... or adventure.
Cheers to the people who lost access to a career at the CBC by standing up to the Suzuki parade. For those who caved into the bullshit.... enjoy your choices; other people paid for the righteous moral choice honestly.
David will not live forever and the element at the CBC protecting questionable corporate behavior surrounding Suzuki will be a target of opportunity for the next generation of CBC management.
Too many people need to have honest careers period!
Suzuki was embarking on a cross Canada tour in a Greyhound bus motorhome.
The bus was parked in front of the Safeway store, diesel engine running loud and belching black soot out of the exhaust pipe. I remarked to one his "disciples" aka Security Entourgage, in front of the bus that they should turn off the engine, it was causing air and noise pollution. I was told to "F***off".
If I had had a cell phone camera at the time, I would have posted photos of this huge hypocrite.
Its an open secret in the Japanese Canadian community that he is an unpleasant egotist, and I hope its not due to his experience as a child in the camps.
It was a really sad realization for me as a young person looking for role models in my community to learn about him.
His sister was an interesting woman though, Aiko Suzuki was gruff but not arrogant.
A real class act. I myself, prior to that night was a fan.
Nice to hear you are back in Victoria Jody
Another friend made the mistake of trying to approach him while on a ferry. He said the look of contempt on DS's face made his jaw drop.
Another friend made the mistake of trying to approach him while on a ferry. He said the look of contempt on DS's face made his jaw drop.